Ooo shiny thing

The BlogFest prompt of the day asks if online schools are worth it. I don’t know the answer to that, although my kids tried K12 – an online public school for home schoolers. We all hated it….and I quit not even 4 months into the school year.  We went back to learning from books and doing worksheets and working at our own pace – all together. That was the biggest downside to the program, all four of my children were studying different periods of history, working on completely different science projects and I was going mad trying to keep up. –  and they hated being on the computer for so long.

We dropped it, and haven’t looked back since. (2 graduated, and went on to college and the coast guard & college.)

As for me, like I’ve said many times before – Pinterest is my online learning “school” of choice.  I know not everyone understands the appeal – I get that, in the same way, Twitter escapes me – I try, I really do, but just cannot stay focused on the rapidly scrolling words – everyone talking at once….
but PICTURES, pictures I “get”  I must be a visual learner, or maybe Pinterest just appeals to my ADD-like behavior,  “ooo shiny thing….”  “SQUIRREL!”
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Back to Pinterest – a lot, maybe 75% of my lessons for this year were found through the wonder that is Pinterest. I wrote on it here too “P.I.N.S.”  Some of the lessons turned out fabulous – better than expected…others, eh, not so much.

Today one of my classes made owls – owl masks … and owl collages.  – and to be honest, 9 hours of being art teacher lady completely wiped me out – sooo, that’s all folks.  :)

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Ooo shiny thing

  1. Oh wow!! You didn’t like k12? Well in the 4 years we’ve been doing it– it has improved greatly each year.

    I did try the first year to do two kids with k12 and could not keep up–so I get that. But I know Mom’s that do keep up with 3, 4, and even 5 kids in k12. Not me. I can get why you may have hated it.

    I just don’t have the time to plan out traditional homeschool or to buy one of the homeschool kits. I work full time, so there is just no way. k12 works for us… and I LOVE their American History books. World History books are great too :)

    Cheers, Jenn.

Comments are closed.