Party in room 208

BlogFEST 2012 kicks off today with the prompt – Party – Jenn from Wine-n-Chat asks the question,  “Are you the life of the party, or the one sitting back being entertained?”
My answer falls somewhere in between – I love throwing parties. And, teaching art feels like I am throwing a party every time I walk in the classroom.

* I plan out  fun projects

*  Welcome kids with enthusiasm

* Pass out supplies

* Excitedly introduce project

* ….and have FUN playing with the art supplies along with the kids

* sometimes I even bring “party favors” like these wrapped erasers, or a take-home project just because.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

There is a technical art teacher in my school – that is not me. She is meticulous and organized…structured and all those other foreign concepts – I am a lot more free form in my approach.

Last year my classes were called “Creativity Explosion!!!”

… this year,  they are simply “Art Exploration” – because I promised the powers that be there will not be any explosions this year :)

My biggest class consists of nearly 30 – first and second year olds. They are wild and loud and I love it.  – I am not wild or loud normally,  but noise does not bother me…noise, mess, chaos – as long as I see smiles, all is well.  It is party time in my classroom and the kids know it.

This does not mean we do not accomplish anything though – our loudest project this year was fun and complete in one 50 minute class.

I read Paper Bag Princess by Robert Munsch and then demonstrated the proper bag smashing technique so we could make

Fall trees.

Supplies include paper bags, scissors, scrap paper, glue sticks
Normally, the directions call for paper lunch sacks, but I say, Go BIG or go home – so I ran into Aldi’s and bought 40 paper grocery bags.

  1. Directions:
    1. STOMP – We stomped and smashed the bags until they were soft and pliable.
    2. REACH – Then I had the class watch as I reached in the sack and grabbed the bottom to turn it inside out (without ripping it) Some of the smaller kids needed help, but overall this worked well.
    4. CUT and SMASH – Then we made two cut from then open end of the bag to the mid-point, twisted the trunk,
    grabbed on the the middle and SMASHED it against the table – so that it would stand on its own.
    5. CUT and TWIST – Then we made another cut in each large section…twist, twist, twist until they look like branches.
    6. TEAR and GLUE – Finally, the kids tore pieces of construction paper and used a glue stick to attach fall leaves.

Ta da!

7 thoughts on “Party in room 208

  1. First– I needed an art teacher like you growing up. I think I always had more of a technical art teacher like the one down the hall. Second– what an absolutely cool post!! I am an adult and I now want to sign up for your art class. I’m sure I won’t pass the age requirement–but that looks like fun!! :)

    Thanks so much for blogging along for the first day of BlogFEST 2012!! Cheers to a GREAT month of Blogging!

  2. What a wonderful party!! You make it fun because you were so relaxed that everyone at the party would be able to have a good time. I’m saying that some people have everything so orchestrated that people aren’t relaxed and having the fun.

  3. Wow! I wish I had you for art class when I was young! What great photos of your class! Thanks so much for sharing!

Comments are closed.