it is time

humanunderconstruction.blogspot.comIt is Time

~~~

the never-ending tick tock of the clock does not always press me into action

i’ve felt crushed by time and lost time, wasted time and filled it to the brim with unnecessary busyness

But, there “comes a time” when you just have to tame it and use it to the best of your ability.

I’m at that time in my life.

I read an article in Psychology Today – (and recently wrote a little about it here .)  -The article spoke of a study that was conducted revealing the danger of daydreams… those who vividly daydream are less likely to achieve their dreams, (according to their research.)  Failure comes because dreamers are able to so fully imagine/visualize -the whole  ‘been there, done that’  freezes them into not bothering. (seriously paraphrased)

Hmmm, I can totally see their point….even if I do not always believe their conclusions – my blog post “Livin’ la Vida Loca”  snarkily disagreed with “big science”  …..but this time – this time – is different.

the idea that I might be complacently daydreaming my life away shook me into action.

Okay, okay I am AWAKE – now let’s get on with it.

 Prioritize – and get to work – doing what matters – everyday- with a smile –

because actually living my dream is much more fulfilling

(and inspiring to my kids-friends-strangers)

than simply imagining.

Nothing will work unless you do.

~Maya Angelou

 

18 thoughts on “it is time

  1. Interesting perspective. I feel like my daydreams aren’t satisfying enough to make me complacent (usually they cause me to take more action because my desire for the object of my daydreams increases). But I never thought about it from this view. I wonder if I’m breeding more complacency than I thought…

    Thanks for sharing!

  2. Nicely stated! Do it. Many years ago a motivational speaker, one I loved, said to me, “If you can dream it, you can plan it, you can achieve it.” He wasn’t the only person to say such a thing, but from him it mattered to me. I saw him DO it and I believed that I could DO it, as well. I did. I think I am still doing it. I just don’t have time or energy for “what ifs” or “some days” because I know that I only have now, for certain.

  3. That last quote is excellent!
    The daydreaming thing could cause one to feel like they’ve already lived or continues to live it. However, there is also the concept that one has to visualize what they want before they can attain it. I think there are some that spend too much time dreaming just because it’s easier and in our dreams, there is very little we can’t accomplish. We have control over our visualizations but not of the outside world. That’s when guts comes into action and we just have to take risks, and go after what we want. Just take a breath and dive for it and save the worry.
    I love your take on this topic! Thank you for sharing it with us!

  4. Excellent! Yep, we can dilly-dally our days away or we can take steps–even itty-bitty ones–toward our goals.

    Oh, and I love the look of this new blog. Gorgeous!

  5. Daydreams can generate into the two kids playing house, “Okay, you’re going to do this, this and that,” “No, I want to do that,” “Okay, you can do that, and then “I’ll do this.” So much time is spent sorting out who’s going to fill which roles, that the actual game is never played. So too can plans to create get waylaid, “As soon as I find the perfect blue notebook and pen, I’m going to sit in the park and write poetry,” and the poetry never gets written, all the time/energy goes into The Great Pen Hunt.

    Still, sometimes those quiet dreamy times are when the best work gets done… upstairs. :-)

Comments are closed.