one word

As it goes in the blogging world, challenges are issued, new groups are formed and intriguing new blogs are discovered…-the kind of blogs that suddenly turns what you thought was a decent little spot for your thoughts into a painfully lame collection of words…..sigh-

Anyways, the latest challenge I’ve run across is a non-challenge of sorts. The best I can figure out, it was a challenge in years past, but the original founders decided to pass the torch and the result is not exactly one group, but potentially several. I could be wrong, either way, prompt one – which I discovered on Word Nerd Speaks, along with Beth’s thoughtful answer – sent me on a rabbit trail with many potential new source of prompts, or maybe just random reading material, we’ll see how it goes.

The question from ReVerb: One Word.  Encapsulate the year 2011 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2012 for you? 

Determination is my word for 2011.  It took sheer force of will for me to get through some of the events of this year. Not talent. Not skill. Not creativity or even a tiny bit of luck. I set out to exchange words for dollars and somehow, my crazy scheme worked. In much the same way, my oldest two are determined to pursue very specific paths and have everything lined up, ready to launch at 10, 9, 8….
This year I also determined to stay put and not let the lies and whispers swirling about bring me down (for the most part). While I was somewhat successful in blocking out the world, this single-minded focus did not always lead to the healthiest choices…and so…


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Passion is the word I want to capture 2012.  Okay, so I jammed a foot in the door, walked around with blinders and sound canceling earplugs… now I want to focus my energy more directly into things that bring me joy.  Determination can make a person quite flat. Like having all the bubbles shaken out of a bottle of pop, life is just flat.  “So, what are you up to these days?”  “Oh, I’m working….um, cleaning…um, working…”   
After writing out and reading through my bucket list, (including the “not for the public entries”), some of that energy came knocking at my hearts door again. Playing with paint flipped on a light switch and these little stirs combined give me hope that the year of 2012 can be full of passionate intensity. Bubbly ideas pursued- but out of love and desire- not so much relentlessly boring determination this time around.  Sound good?

Cheers! 
*ooo bubbles*

Posted in n

3 thoughts on “one word

  1. first of all, what are you doing reading blogs at 1 am lady? – and what am I doing writing posts after midnight?… oh yeah, we are on the same crazy train, "whew, finally a second to myself…" :)

Comments are closed.