you are not a turkey

I hope everyone is enjoying their Thanksgiving Eve…regardless of what you have going on in your life, you have one thing to be thankful for – you are not a turkey.


What does that mean? Well, a turkey is defined as;

1. A large North American bird that has brownish plumage and a bare wattled head and neck and is widely domesticated for food.
2.  A related bird of Mexico and Central America, brilliantly colored and having eye-like spots on its plumage.

3. A person considered inept or undesirable.
4. A failure, a flop especially a failed theatrical production or movie.
5. Three consecutive strikes in bowling.
 Okay, now I am going to outline the reasons why you, my friend, are not a turkey. 
Bird? You are not a bird. That should be clear, and need no further explanation. 
Domesticated? You may be domestic, but you are not food.  I have to believe cannibals are not reading this blog….
North American? You may be from North America, Mexico or Central America but I feel rather confident that you do not have a feathered plumage. If you hail from another country, I am guessing from this definition, turkeys are not native to your hometown – and so, you are not a turkey, whew. In fact, even if you were born in Turkey – you are not A turkey, you are, what, Turkish? Turk?  but definitely not a turkey.
Inept? Okay, are you a turkey if you are inept? Well that depends…..Albert Einstein said, “Everybody is a genius. But, if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it’ll spend its whole life believing that it is stupid” 
In other words, stop trying to climb trees – do what you are meant to do. 
Undesirable?  No, I love blog readers…thanks for visiting. So not a turkey.
A failure? A flop?  Good. Me too. – but since I am not a movie or theatrical production, this does not mean I am a turkey. Go ahead, fail big….then do it again. Three strikes and you are…a turkey?  nah, you may want to change it up, try something different though…
“Many of life’s failures are men who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up.”  ~Anonymous
and since I am up waiting for food to come out of the oven, let’s talk turkey….
 This post was going to be a rant. Harsh words were clanging through my skull all the way home from a too long shopping trip. I was mad. A certain someone said something that completely ruffled my nonexistent feathers and I was going to obscurely blast the turkey….but somewhere between the front door and my computer, I realized it was not worth it. 
Maybe it was the Motown on the radio, or the smell of cinnamon, or maybe the realization, who wants to read a totally veiled post about a person they do not know?   especially on Thanksgiving Eve.
Besides, I do not express anger well – it comes across about as well as bringing a Nerf gun to an Air Soft battle. See, even that analogy was just awful. 
       
   
 Magic of Motown
So instead, I served up a silly dish of cheesy goodness, Turkey. 
just kidding, you are not a turkey. 
SMILE BIG… 
Happy Thanksgiving!!!!
      ~*~*~* daily blogging for NaBloPoMo~*~*~*~*
not a turkey inspiration from Live Bold and Bloom
6 thoughts on “you are not a turkey

  1. I'm glad you gave up on your rant, because I really enjoyed this post as it is. Love the quotes about failure and success. Einstein's should be posted in every school room in the world–and teachers should be forced to memorize it. Happy thanksgiving.

Comments are closed.