writing to write

The lingering effects of Halloween…sugar crashing cranky kids and ~YAWN ~ I am still so tired …anyways since I am so behind, I need to get myself back in gear. What better way to do that than answer a few random questions?          Writing begets writing right, right.

Wednesday Hodgepodge questions from This Side of the Pond.
 

1. Who taught you how to cook? 
My mom is an amazing cook, baker, canner, gardener and now- coupon shopper too. So I should know these things…and I do surprise myself sometimes with bits and pieces of knowledge I didn’t know I had, but then again- it’s not a huge priority for me. I refuse fast food, convenience food and frozen lumps- because I care about nutrition – but never fully made the leap into her world.  Someday, I’ll check it out.

2. Have you been told you think too much? Are too much of a perfectionist? Are too sensitive? Were they right?
Yes, no, yes and YES… ~but~  it’s all good, yes I have been told I think too much, but that’s silly…too much of a perfectionist, ah, not really- I prefer to do things badly, it’s sort of my motto. Too sensitive – OF COURSE I am, that is without a doubt very, very true. I am too sensitive, too emotional and think too much – or am I?  Maybe everyone else doesn’t think or feel quite enough???    

3. As a child did you have a favorite blanket or toy? Tell about it.
There were a few, I really liked red wing black birds, so my mom made me a very cool red wing black bird puppet, that sadly I do not have anymore….but I do have Tiger, the puppet. He sits on my top shelf along with this big head bear -(I had a big head as a child, er-still do, a real moon head, pumpkin head, whatever.)  

4. What ‘institution‘ do you have the most faith in?
Tough question….running through the list of institutions I can think of from banking to law to medical and schools, churches and social institutions…they are all ultimately run by people, flawed people with their own agendas who maybe think too much, or not enough- who may not be the least bit sensitive or too sensitive, who want to be popular and keep their job, regardless of the actual individual issue at hand – I don’t think it is cynical to say I do not have a lot of faith in institutions in general. Most faith- hmmm, institution of marriage, because even if a person has been married  4, 5, 6 times – there is a tendency to keep looking for “the one”   
5. Chrysanthemumspansiesburning bushornamental cabbage…your favorite in an autumn garden?
Chrysanthemums are a nice surprise in the fall….the ones that miraculously bloom after all the other flowers fade away…and the big pot of new mums I grab at the last minute each year – cheap- then plant to keep the surprises coming. 

6. What superpower do the kids in your neighborhood seem to posses? 
 They do not need superpowers, they are the ‘ever-present’ ones.
7. Are you a fan of the cranberry?
Yes, but it has become rather slutty- hooking up with all the other fruits. Cranberries are perfect just the way they are.
8. Insert your own random thought here.
Love my cuckoo clock. Got it for my 40th birthday- to remind me how cuckoo I am, I suppose.
I like clocks-have a giant clock in the family room, would love a wall of clocks- each on a different world time (Paris), love that feature on my phone..  but with all this obsession with clocks and time, I have terrible time management skills.  (and often forget to set the clocks- so end up relying on my phone anyways)
 

Cuckoo Cuckoo Cuckoo Cuckoo Cuckoo Cuckoo Cuckoo Cuckoo Cuckoo

4 thoughts on “writing to write

  1. Gotta agree with the chrysanthemums…one of the only true delights of fall for me is that the mums insist on defying the light frost and continue to bloom until the snow finally says, "Enough with that happiness!" and then everything goes gray for this girl.That was a fun post!

Comments are closed.