don’t open that door!

I do not make it a point to watch scary movies, horror flicks or any sort of slasher-esque style show….but even in prime time, (like crime shows…..)  there are times when you just want to shout at the screen, “don’t open that door!!!”  “What, are you INSANE, do NOT for the love of Pete go in the basement!!!”

Can’t you HEAR the scary music??????   it is getting louder, and louder….oh man, something BAD is going to happen…”idiot, just turn around, there is no shame in fleeing. Just GO!” 

This is how I am feeling about the upcoming NaNoWriMo….

I want to do it, I love the supportive group, 
I even like my outline, my characters and the ideas that have swirling around..

                but, I can hear the scary music. It is getting louder and louder….

oh come on, this is silly, I seriously need to retrieve stuff from the dark scary basement of my mind…but

I am scared. 

The thing is, I do not know if I can afford to actually “write” again, emotionally-it throws me for a loop, makes me loopy,  and then financially- can I hold enough of my brain power back to concentrate on those words I exchange for dollars?

(while I know universally, artists and writers have dealt with this issue- I am going to ignore history and simply carry on as if it is just me– which is exactly what it feels like right now)

Getting lost in the characters and mixed up in their lives is a strange place to find yourself. -letting them run amuck in my brain is not wise… but it is the only way to get their lives on the page…
I guess the same thing happens when I read, certain authors completely alter my reality- it takes a bit to shake their thoughts-

So the question I’m facing is, can I keep everything in their proper compartments, packing up the crazies when necessary?   I don’t know. I have to, but I don’t know how.

I need a plan. I need to actively counterbalance the effects of inevitable weirdness that will overtake me in November….

if you thought this was going to followed up with an actual plan,
sorry. no, 
like I said, I NEED a plan…
still working on it.
2 thoughts on “don’t open that door!

  1. Know exactly what you mean, Sylvia. This my first attempt at NaNoWriMo, so I've no idea whether I'd make it or not! I'm at PaulaMartin on Nano if you want to be my friend!

  2. I read this a few days ago,scratched my head and got distracted, so that explains why you didn't see me here. Anyhoo…today, on google+, I saw a reference to nanowrimo with a link, so I followed it. What a fantastic site for writers!!! I am fascinated with the contest, however, I wouldn't dare start such a project. I'm sticking with short stories… which mostly exceed my attention span. But, I am seriously impressed with those who accept this challenge. Best wishes!

Comments are closed.