Shed

I recently started reading the book, SHED Your Stuff, Change Your Life by Julie Morgenstern. Well, reading is sort of an understatement, with my schedule and short attention span, perusing is a better word. I’ve been scanning the pages, trying to find little pearls of wisdom that I can use.

From what I gather her plan involves four steps;
 1. Separate the treasures
 2. Heave the trash
 3. Embrace your identity
 4. Drive yourself forward. 

It is more than just a simple, straightforward ‘get rid of clutter, organize your life’ book.  I know how to declutter. I call it “trash bag cleaning” and do it with gusto. But I do hold on to a lot of stuff. And…most importantly and the reason why I picked up this book is that I am a little stuck. Lots of good things going on in my life. Loads of opportunity and potential….but I am NOT SLEEPING. I am TOO BUSY. The STRESS is catching up to me in spades.  I need a better focus and a plan.

Hence trying to squeeze a self-help book into the mix.

Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you have imagined. Henry David Thoreau.

Okay, I am living the dream so to speak. Years ago I wrote in my journal that I wanted to be a writer, artist and teacher…..I am all three. This is fabulous….but be careful for what you ask for!  I am unfocused and trying to do too much in all three areas. Basically I have two full-time jobs, demanding hobbies and four active children. Full-time freelance writer, full-time teacher, artist, roller derby, running…and never ending mom duties.

Writing– NEED to pare down my themes. I make a good income, but have numerous topics that I am trying to juggle. I might be able to do a better job if I was keeping on top of one or two subjects.
Teaching– Love it, but it is exhausting! Too many classes, too many big projects, and art shows galore. Will be paring this down next year. I won’t quit….but I need to create a saner schedule.
Personal Art *This is where I SHED first- much to my son’s dismay, I heaved a large amount of art that was just sitting in storage cabinets. I like empty shelves and the paintings were never going to hang in a museum. I pictured myself deciding what to do with them when I am 90…and out they went.

If the book shines a light on my life and helps me release some of the load…I will update.  Crossing fingers!

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=secrabousecr-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=0743250907&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr

Posted in art